Onward and Upward

“Once I found professional happiness, it gave me time to think about other areas in my life in which I wasn’t happy.” -Megyn Kelly

I started blogging on a “hustle” for 30 days, and for anyone who was following my blog will notice that I did not complete that hustle because I didn’t blog for 30 days straight.  My 30 days of hustle was such a learning experience, as it came with many hardships and great lessons.  During the past couple of weeks I learned about prioritizing my time, and in doing so learned to embrace what was really important to me.  Unfortunately blogging was lower on the list.  As my confidence grows I will actually start working on my script and that would consume my hustle time and my blogging may dwindle for a bit.  But it won’t disappear since I’m trying to make it my alternative to Facebook.  I’m trying to get away from that time sink.

So. Onward and upward.  My hustle now is for a job that I love.  Or a job that I like for a company that I love hoping to learn the ropes and eventually move to a job that I love in a company that I love.  My target: The Walt Disney Company.  I’ve been living on their website almost everyday for the past month watching the job postings.  Part of me was afraid of the possibility of denial so I never applied.  I have applied for only two jobs during my whole career since I graduated from University in 2001.  My application muscles had atrophied. Another problem in my early attempts at job hunt was that I was applying for jobs I didn’t want.  I kept looking for engineering positions that I fit well on paper.  I was relying on my resume to dictate what job I can get instead of creating my resume to get the job I want.

While I was studying to become a mechanical engineer, each semester’s class schedule which was full of technology and logic.  But there would always be a class that would be way out in left field, figuratively, symbolically and literally.  The most bizarre was an touring theater course that I took as an “easy A” to ensure that I stayed a full time student.  It was a 1 unit course which was more work than anything else I had on my plate.  When showtime came about, out of 4 casts, I had the lead role on opening night with my choice of cast.  At the end of the semester, I was voted most inspiring cast member and had developed this amazing taste on my palate for theater.  That run was quickly doused by my relationship at the time.  In the same era, I had the opportunity to move to Australia with my cousins and attend the conservatory of music… but I had to go back to the US to be with my girlfriend, who ended up leaving me within the next year.  My inner artist had been trying to burst out of my seams only to be stuffed back in by my immature sense of dedication.

In 1998 after my relationship ended I discovered the M.I. (Militia Immaculata), a Roman Catholic movement devoted to the Blessed Mother.  I was already 22 and depressed from my recent breakup but my mom was insistent that I attend a retreat to get away from everything and recenter my life.  So somehow I found myself as a leader on a teen retreat that my younger brother was attending.  My artistic and leadership abilities clicked on and I won over my group with my guitar playing, singing, skate boarding, jokes and athletic ability.  Since then I have been writing songs, performing, writing skits and sketches, directing, coordinating, singing, playing music and giving talks about topics that are important to me.  God has always provided me with the things that I really need.  Immersed in a professional world of fighter planes, jet engines and lots of technology, I was always able to pull away and let my inner artist loose.  As a single male, straight out of college and earning the wages of an aerospace engineer, I traveled the country working with the M.I. in different parts of the United States.  We went to Poland, France, Germany, the Czech Republic, and Canada.

Once we had our first baby I stopped volunteering with the M.I. and still had a full time job as an engineer in the biometric industry.  I was surrounded by technology but did not have that artistic outlet.  We moved to New York so that Shelly could further her career and I became a full-time stay-home daddy.  I finally pulled away from all that engineering work and my creativity was tested in the streets and subways of New City.  

Now that we’re back in Los Angeles, I am looking for a job again.  Shelly is making sure that I don’t settle into one that I’m comfortable in.  I have to find one that I love.  So I searched for technical jobs in the entertainment field.  Disney, Dreamworks and Fox Studios were three of my targets; I had friends who worked in all three and they were able to give me some insight into the company cultures.  I struggled to write a resume.  I felt like the depth of my technical experience was just enough to get the job done.  I felt like I was a Jack of many trades and an Ace of none.  I prayed.

I was trying to think of any other experience that I could put on a resume.  I needed a job where I could inspire people, not one where I just crank numbers all day.  Then one day, while walking to Trader Joe’s while pulling Zoey in our wagon, I had a revelation.  For a decade, while I was pursuing a career in what I thought I wanted.  God had always provided what I really needed.  I realized that I had been planning events, coordinating, directing and instructing with the M.I. longer than I had been a professional engineer.  I started looking for jobs under the coordinating umbrella and it was much easier.  I went down job descriptions with newfound confidence, checking off each responsibility knowing that I was a perfect fit.  My engineering experience usually overqualified me for any technical requirement they had.  I was finally heading in the right direction.

Last night, I spent almost three hours working on a cover letter.  My first one in since 2001.  I end this blog since my hour and a half allocated to blogging has expired.  I have to write my resume now.

What do you think? Please leave a comment

